PROGRESS REPORT 2

I'm taking a moments' break from writing anything new for the moment so I can regain some focus. It's one of the drawbacks of having three projects going on at once. Instead, I'm going over Daily Life of a Bicycle Cop because, while I was coming up with ideas for Case Docket 9, I felt I should go over what I had already written. I realized how much I rushed through a lot of things, missed punctuation, screwed up grammar...

...I couldn't go through it without cringing.

So, while I'm taking a rest from coming up with new things for Charlotte & Me, Bicycle Cop, and PHILIA, I'm going through Bicycle Cop and fixing it.

Here are the fixes I'll be implementing:
  1. Fixing punctuation and grammar. That much is a given, so no need to dwell on that.
  2. I realized that I never went over Satsuke's first day in the new house. After all, he was living in a small one-bedroom apartment, so moving into a huge house with spacious rooms would be a major adjustment.
  3. I never went over why Mako ended up in the house in the first place. I established Tara's reason in Case Docket 2, but not Mako. I also felt like I should establish one of the reasons why she'd be considered one of the more dangerous mermaid species.
  4. Piper is one of the least developed characters, despite the fact that she's the third girl to move in. I confess that I wasn't able to find her "voice" until a few days ago. Now that I have, it's time that our beloved echidna has some room early on to develop. Piper deserves no less.
  5. The last few chapters are an absolute mess, so much so that I feel ashamed that I went live with them.
Since I've been adding these necessary details, I noticed that the chapters seem to be becoming extremely long. Thus, I may end up having to make a new chapter just to accommodate these necessary details. Even without this, I may end up tearing the whole thing down and start putting the new versions up when I feel they're ready.
 
I can't help but feel like I'm acting like George Lucas did when he started fucking with the original Star Wars trilogy. You know... "this is how I always intended it to be," and all that horseshit. I feel that the main difference is that Lucas was trying to fix something that wasn't broken, while I'm noticing a lot of glaring flaws in Bicycle Cop, so I feel it's my responsibility to fix them.
 
So yeah. Hopefully, this will help me get myself out of this rut so I can focus on one story at a time, starting with Charlotte & Me.
 
As always, thanks so much for your support and your patience! I genuinely appreciate all of you.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WTFWIT: Charlotte & Me

PROGRESS REPORT 1

WTFWIT: Beautiful Sentinels: PHILIA